top of page

MISCONCEPTION OF A TEENAGER

I would like to share an incident that took place on 22nd of this month. Actually this is the conversation that took place between my father and me. The previous day I reached my home late in the night as I attended a concert. As I was late to home my father started counseling me. I had to listen though I was not interested. He narrated a story of a boy and his father which was greatly correlated to my situation.

The story begins…

“In the night when the hour’s hand of the clock struck 10, the boy returned home. His parents advised him to concentrate on his studies by limiting his extracurricular activities. The guy’s patience levels were saturated and he bursted out that they had never given him freedom to live his life. He questioned them weather it is a sin to spend an hour on social networking sites or hanging out with friends? His parents replied that they would give him freedom as much as he wanted if he accompanies them to their hometown for a day. They reached and visited their farm. His father asked what he had observed in the farm. He replied that all the trees were tall, strong except one and he was curious to know the reason behind it. His father answered, that for healthy growth of a tree it should be trimmed properly. We trimmed the branches of all the trees excluding one so that it grows on its own (freedom is given). The untrimmed branches effected the growth of the tree. Similarly unnecessary activities would lead to the destruction of a person. As a father I am just trying to trim your behavior for your bright future but not your freedom.”

After listening to this I realized that our parents are very concerned about us and we should be at a position to understand their feelings and emotions, by considering their advices we should prosper in our lives. I would be glad if this article fetches you something.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page